Pitching and Presenting

Today I presented my game idea to the class, I yet again waited to go last – but this time it was more due to the lack of sleep I had managed to get the night before. Now as I have discovered that in previous presentations that lack of sleep appears to help with the nerves. However it does also imped my ability to talk cohesively at the same time, despite some rather clever note preparation. As I exported the Power Point as a PDF with my notes (as seen below) and transferred that PDF to my HTC phone, the idea being I could use the touch screen to flick through my notes as I went through the presentation so I was sure I covered everything I needed to. However this didn’t quite work as I had not practiced enough beforehand and therefore couldn’t quite get the mouse clicking and the page flicking done at the same time. It felt like I was trying to do the pat your head and rub your tummy at the same time trick while reciting the alphabet backwards.

I wanted to try this out though as I didn’t want to stand up there with paper notes, not only for the look of it but the waste of paper as well. So I decided to use the phone instead, not sure how that would have come across, but the screen was too small for this purpose really. If I could have set up the duel screen between the laptop and the projector to double rather than duplicate that would have looked better as I would then be glancing at the screen at the same time as clicking through the slides. Though when this is not possible I do start to see the need for a tablet PC as this is the type of situation in which it would come in really handy. (That and it would like like I’m using a PADD out of Star Trek!) πŸ™‚

Anyway I am writing this up as I want to experiment in the first year and find a way to conduct presentations in manner in which I am comfortable but also look professional. These informal mini-presentations at the beginning of projects I see as a perfect time to experiment as there is usually not as much content as the final one and these are not graded, unlike the presentation at the end of the project. I also know that I still need a lot of practice in this area and for the graded presentations I will need to ensure that I know the presentation inside out and know exactly what I am going to say without notes…which means going over it beforehand. But I don’t have to worry about that for now and I did well in this one I think, I at least managed to slow down a little so people could understand what I was saying I hope!

Here is the presentation complete with notes in PDF format:
[gview height=”870″ file=”http://lizlansdown.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Spinning-Tops-and-Mazes.pdf”%5D

As you can see I am planning on creating a small mobile game that is a combination of some previous ideas, but based firmly in the Victorian era. The trick here is to ensure that I have thought through every game play aspect and have that distinct art style that is going to make it stand out. This is what I am going to be working on for the next few days.

Leave a Reply

