Organisation

It is now two weeks into term, and I have been fairly busy, what with the awesome Women in Games Jobs Conference last week and catching up with my old friend Angie it almost feels as if there has been no time for University. Yet me and my project partner Niomi have been working every spare moment on our final major project, and I have been having many meetings about my Dissertation with various tutors at Uni, as well as trying to get the large amount of writing I have done for it into some semblance of order!

All this of course has involved a lot of organising obviously, and its my favourite part of the year, it’s where I get to plan ahead and think about all the things that need to be done and sort out the most efficient and fun way of doing them. 🙂  This has its advantages and disadvantages of course as there is always a point where you need to stop organising and start doing, and it is a trap that I have fallen into in the past, but not this time as there has been a lot of doing!

This is mainly evidenced by the work that me and Niomi have done on our final major project at the moment, codenamed “Telling the Tales of Old” we have already sorted out the main chunk of our game idea, half a of the vast chunk of the necessary research has been done and we have set up the required blog and site to record all our hard work. We may have bitten off more than we can chew with this one, but we are enjoying the challenge. At the moment we are keeping everything under wraps until the Design Documentation has been handed in and we are working on the main prototype.

Due to all the coming and going and long hours working today has been a day off and I have been playing NiGHTS on the Playstation (not something I ever thought I would type!) and generally chilling out. But the organisation bug is a hard one to shake, so now I find myself at a late hour writing up blog posts and trying to sort out my business cards for GameCity 7 on Moo.com.

It seems that even on a dedicated to a day off I can’t help but work a little…a good thing and a bad thing I suppose, but at the start of the year and a project like the one I’m working on it is nice to have that flexibility right now. It’s like looking at a mountain in the distance…it all seems fairly easy to get there at this stage, but soon I will be at the foot of it wondering how to get up the steep hill, then there will the part were I am on the steep hill and will not be able to stop and start as I feel and just have to work hard and carry on. 🙂 (I may also have been listening to Austin Wintory’s Journey soundtrack a bit too much while writing!)

Anyway for now back to the finishing touches of my business card and then onto writing up my trip to London.

Leave a Reply

